Winners of the 2014 FDCI elections

Once every three years, there’s a new kind of show in the Delhi fashion circuit that everybody watches out for, but it’s not about the clothes on the ramp.The elections to the Board of the Fashion Design Council of India (FDCI), held once in every three years, bring to the fore the politics, the juicy gossip and power play among the very visible and glamorous design camaraderie. The last elections were held in 2011.

This year’s election results were not less keenly anticipated, though. They were announced at 8pm on Saturday night. Among the surprise upsets is Manish Malhotra, who, despite not being on the last board, was not expected to not be elected, since he was one of the bigger names contesting, and has tried to make his presence felt more strongly outside of Mumbai, especially in Delhi, in the recent past. Leena Singh from the Ashima-Leena duo was also among the surprise losers of the fashion industry’s electoral battle. Payal herself was congratulated that evening as much for her show as for finding a place on the board this year.

List of Elected Fellow Members
1. David Abraham
2. Rohit Bal
3. Ashish Soni
4. J J Valaya
5. Rohit Gandhi (re-elected)
6. Namrata Joshipura
7. Payal Jain
8. Anju Modi

List of Elected Associate Members
9. Pankaj Ahuja
10.Abhishek Gupta
11.Gautam Rakha
12.Renu Tandon
13.Gaurav Gupta
14.Aneeth Arora
15.Poonam Bhagat
16.Samant Chauhan

This Governing Board of the Council will hold power for the coming three years and will represents around 450 designers from across the country. Together, it will takes all major decisions of the FDCI along with the President of the FDCI, including new projects to be undertaken, investments and ventures.

With the glowing names on board, the FDCI will certainly go from strength to strength in the coming years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *